This is all new to me, and not something I do easily.  I'm a very private person.  To quote one of my favorite movies about men sharing their feelings..."Real men hide their feelings. Why? Because it's none of your....business!" (Murphy, Conner, & Rocco in BDS 2)  Now, I'm not a man, but it does seem that that's the way I've lived my life up until recently.  I always felt that I had to keep my thoughts and feelings guarded.  Other people have their own problems they are dealing with, my life probably wasn't really that important to them and, honestly, others don't need to know what's going on in my head! 


But in February 2013, I came across a blog called SHINE UNTIL TOMORROW.  I read what SPF had to say about making a public proclamation about changing your life, and for some reason, I wrote a response.  And what happened a few days later started me down the road I'm on now.  He wrote a comment...three little words..."Beautiful! God Bless."  I decided maybe it wasn't so bad to open up a bit and share a little of myself.  Yes, I know this is a website dedicated to the inspiration of Reedus, but I wanted to give SPF that little nod!  (And besides, without him, I never would've gotten around to knowing how motivational Reedus could be!)


My story is on the forum page, probably not as eloquent or poetic as it could be, but it's the facts.  You see?  My son Justin was born with a heart defect, and at the age of 3 weeks, he suffered a heart attack.  We almost lost him far more times than I care to remember when he was little...a constant fear of waking up each morning and finding he hadn't made it through the night.  That probably had a lot to do with me feeling that no one needed to know what I was feeling or thinking.  It's a pretty hard thing to deal with when you have a three year old also and you're only 23 years-old yourself and you didn't make the best choice in the world for a husband.

Picture
Justin was 3 when I became a single mother with 3 little boys.  That was 22 years ago.  After the first 10 years and several heart surgeries,  Justin's health was pretty good.  I began to relax a bit.  Then about 3 years ago, things started being not so great.  His heart functioning started decreasing, and hearing that your son's heart is only functioning at about 60% capacity and there's really nothing they can do is just as devastating at the age of 44 as it was at the age of 23. Then in January of 2012, I got a frantic phone call from his nurse... Justin was coughing up a bunch of blood and the ambulance was on it's way...and it wouldn't stop. He was airlifted to a hospital in Indianapolis and spent a week in ICU.  The pulmonologist was kind enough to not tell me how truly worried he was about Justin for the first several days, until after Justin was over the rough spots.  We both KNEW how bad it was, but...

He got better from that and we went along our merry little way.  Then in November, it happened again.  Two very traumatic physical events in a year.  He got better again, and we were sent home with instructions that when it happens again, we were to instruct any ER we ended up in to get him to Indy and once there admit him directly into ICU, even if they did get the bleeding to stop.


I joined Twitter shortly after receiving those three little words from SPF, and I lurked there for a while.  Eventually I began to Tweet more and as I picked up more followers.  And like most of those die-hard Norman fans, when I see a picture of Norman that I like, I right click and save it.   After accumulating so many pictures of him, I began to ask myself "What the heck am I going to do with all these pictures?" So I started making collages and I tweeted them developing a small but loyal base of Twitter friends.  Some of those friends kept talking about meeting Norman, and some time during the past year and a half, Justin decided he liked The Walking Dead. We usually take a small vacation so that Justin can stay in a hotel because he loves it!  And as I read more and more stories about people meeting Norman, I decided that THAT would be Justin's vacation this year.  When he likes someone from TV, he'll look at the TV and point to himself, meaning he wants to see that person that he likes so well or that he's their buddy.  Norman seemed to be the one person that Justin loves from TV that I could possibly actually take him to see.  I found a con close enough to home that if something happens to Justin we can probably get back to Indy.  So we are now scheduled to take a weekend trip to Columbus, Ohio in just a couple weeks.  Norman had to cancel his date for the 20th and 21st, but the Wizard World was able to book him for the following Saturday.  So it looks like we are taking our short weekend vacation in two weeks and then following that up the next Saturday with a 8 hour round trip to actually meet the person who has inspired my son to put so much work into sitting up straight and controlling his wheelchair better! 


I'll keep you posted!

@Tammyh765


Charmane
9/9/2013 08:51:36 am

Tammy, I am one of you're loyal followers on twitter. And so happy to be so. You & J are truly inspiring! Not just for all the beautiful collages you make (an extra thank you for my Nemec collages ;-) ) I hope this all goes well. I can't wait to hear of your adventures with J & Norman. XOXOXO

Reply
Tammy
9/9/2013 10:12:47 am

Thanks so much! It's sometimes good (and humbling) to know that while what you think is just living your life, it's somehow inspirational to some people!

Reply
Sophia
9/9/2013 08:59:05 am

Hi Tammy, May God bless you and Justin forever. Looking forward to hearing about your trip meeting Norman!

Reply
Tammy
9/9/2013 10:13:51 am

Thank you. I don't know if the post about meeting Norman will be as long winded as this but I definitely plan on posting and sharing whatever pictures we can get!

Reply
Juanett Harris
9/9/2013 09:35:52 am

I'm so happy you decided to join twitter and that somehow I found you and your awesome collages. They can brighten even my worst days. I'm so excited for you and Justin to finally meet Reedus on the 28th; you 2 have been through so much that you deserve this! Can't wait to see the collages it inspires. I also want to thank you for sharing with me you vast knowledge of Reedus films... I'd be lost without my guru!!!

Reply
Tammy
9/9/2013 10:09:58 am

Thanks so much. You know you were probably the very first real conversation I had on Twitter thanks to whatever it was we were talking about with @HelloHerman! Love you to death, Grasshopper!

Reply
Kim
9/9/2013 09:55:15 am

Hey Tammy! I am also one of your "followers." I met Norman, Sean Clark & Michael Rooker a few months ago so I know that you & your son are going to have a blast! Just wanted to wish you well on your trip:)

Reply
Tammy
9/9/2013 10:11:27 am

Thanks so much! It's really exciting to be going. I know that even though Norman won't be there until the 28th, Justin is going to love meeting Michael Rooker at the convention!

Reply
Debbie Bailey
9/9/2013 10:13:28 am

Hi Tammy, I am a follower on twitter and this is an inspiring story and i am glad you are telling it, i know it cannot be easy for you .I really appreciate you and all of the collages you have made for me and all of your followers. Have a great time withNorman

Reply
Tammy
9/9/2013 11:34:17 am

Thanks, sweetheart! I think it's the encouragement from all of you that keep me going!

Reply
Kathy Barlow
9/17/2013 07:51:09 pm

Hello Tammy, thank you for telling yours an Justin's story.It's rough being a young single mother with special needs children..I had my first son at 18..Born with ostiogenisisimperfecta crazy long word but it means brittle bones.So at 18 i brought home a 7pnd 11oz baby boy with a broken collar bone an fractured arm.That was the start of many more broken bones an surgeries..What kept me going was (it could be worse!!) Your story is amazing an very inspirational..Thank you for opening up an sharing it with us..I am so looking forward to seeing pics an i hope video of Justin an you meeting Norman..Tammy you are a strong an amazing woman so proud to have met you on twitter threw our love of the Reedus...much love to you an to Justin..<3

Reply
Tammy Huff
9/18/2013 11:41:19 am

Thanks, Kathy! "It could be worse" is what kept me going too! Seeing so many babies in the hospital with such miserable conditions, some without any family members to ever visit them, hold them, cuddle them and tell them how much they are loved! I'm excited about meeting Reedus because I've loved him as an actor for far too many years to count, but I think I'm so much more excited about seeing Justin meet him!

Reply



Leave a Reply.