I know I said I was going to do this tomorrow, but I'll probably be much more open now while I'm exhausted and everything is still fresh in my mind. And I'll be much less grammatically correct (so if you're an English teacher reading this...I apologize in advance!)

As you know, today was the reschedule day for Justin's hero to be in Columbus, and earlier this month when I heard that was going to be the case, I dutifully wrote it on Justin's calendar so he'd know that we weren't going to be able to see Norman on September 21st, but we'd go back the next Saturday and he could meet him then!  Then as we walk in to the convention Friday, they are announcing that Norman Reedus would definitely be there Saturday and Sunday as scheduled.  All through the day Sunday, I was debating whether or not to return on the 28th. and about 10 minutes before closing, I made my decision.  Once you write something on Justin's calendar, it's a done deal to him! And besides, I've always been the type of parent that if I told my kids I'd do something, come Hell or high water, I'd make every possible effort to make sure it happened.  I don't take making promises lightly!
So, I rolled his tuchas out of bed at 5:00 this morning, and through red, blurry eyes, he smiled that huge smile he's had since arriving at the convention last week. We got in the van and headed off to Columbus, Ohio for the third time in 8 days!  If anyone needs directions to the Greater Columbus Convention Center, I can give them to you now! ; )
We arrived early since I was expecting a line and I wanted to make sure Justin had lots of room for his legs--all those screaming fangirls I've seen in youtube videos would not be a good combination with my kiddo!  I knew that we had used our VIP tickets last week and we'd be general admission today.  Justin's legs swell easily so waiting in long lines isn't that great for him.  As we were waiting, who is roaming around and in and out of the rooms, none other than Sean Clark!  Now I've heard stories about this man---"he's a sweetheart", "he's just dreamy", "he's such a terrific guy". I only knew what I knew about him from Twitter and other Internet sources.  I had no reason to doubt he was a nice guy, but...

Anyway, I told Justin who he was last Sunday when we were waiting in line, and Justin recognized him immediately today!  He started signing about him, and Sean walked close enough by that I was able to get his attention and ask for a picture with Justin.
  Okay...now I must admit "Sean is a sweetheart". "He's just dreamy!" "He's a terrific guy!"  And Justin loves him to death!  When this picture made it's rounds on Twitter, Sean responded with:
Sean Clark ‏@malfuncsean1h
@ennoia3 @Tammyh765 Great seeing you both again!


Just a few simple words, but when I showed Justin he was grinning from ear to ear again!  


Like I said, I knew we'd be waiting a while since we weren't new VIP's this time, but about 35 minutes before time for things to get going, the Wizard World folks asked us to step out of line, and they let Justin and another young girl be VVIP's again!  (I can't say enough about how terrific they treated us both times!)


I took Justin in and we got ready to do our photo op and Norman tried to get Justin to run over one of the workers!  Perhaps a dangerous request because I'm pretty sure that if Norman asked Justin to drive off a cliff, he might just do it!  LOL  We got our picture taken and I don't know how but I seem to look worse in this one than I did in the one from last week!  I hate having my picture taken!  So if that one gets posted it'll be edited to just half the picture!  After the picture was taken, Justin tried his darndest to hug Norman! I convinced him he could get a hug in a bit because there were lots of folks needing to get done!  


We went on around and got into a line waiting for our autographs! And we waited and waited for what probably seemed like hours to Justin. He sat staring at the door waiting for His Highness Reedus to arrive!  (And occasionally telling the ladies beside him that Norman had signed his braces last week!)
As we wait for him, Sean goofed off with the radio and sung a bit, and Justin thought the man was hilarious!  Awesome job kudos to Sean for not only making my son smile and happy, but he got him laughing too! Perfect!!!  (Did I say "Sean is a sweetheart" yet?)

Then it happens! THE MAN walks in!  Never mind that he refuses to sing for us..(I've seen the video of him and Sean on the back of a golf cart and I don't think he's a bad as he claimed he is.)---neither here nor there!  

The young lady in front of us goes on up to the table for her autographs, and Norman treats her like she's the only one in the room at that moment.  His attention is on her and it's a wonderful thing to watch!  
Then it's Justin's turn!  Most people try to talk to Justin and when they figure out he's non-verbal they talk to me to ask me questions about him or about what he's saying and occasionally they'll glance down at him!  Norman wasn't like that at all! Even last Sunday when he was checking out Justin's Walker Stomper braces, and he asked how they made them, his focus was still on Justin! Astoundingly incredible!  And perhaps when I've had time to look back on all this, I'll get just a tad bit jealous that Justin got all the attention from this man that I've loved since I saw Floating far too many years ago to count!  But for now, he's made my son's wishes and dreams come true!  He got to meet the awesomely cool dude who played Murphy MacManus, Scud, Swain, Mac, the Recovery Man, Kirby, Jonathan Casey and Daryl Dixon. (Those are the only movies/shows of Norman's that Justin has watched.) 

I thanked him for meaning so much to Justin, and being humble he replied that Justin was "awesome" and didn't let what I said go to his head.   Or perhaps, he really just didn't understand the magnitude of what I meant. 

For those of you who saw the pages of the scrapbook we gave Norman, you've seen this, but it bears repeating here.  I don't know if he saw it or read it, but I meant every word.
I hope to be able to take Justin to a convention about every 6 months or so, but that may be too lofty of a goal for a single mother!  And health may be an issue again down the road a bit.  So until then, we'll hold on to the memories of what a wonderful experience of a lifetime that Justin got to have! Thanks for reading these blogs and taking this journey with us!
And thanks so much for this Tweet from a friend:
a norman co-stalker ‏@ennoia32h
Make sure you read this but be prepared for major feels! RT:@Tammyh765 @wwwbigbaldhead You can read his story here: http://inspiredbyreedus.weebly.com/blog.html 


LeahMarieBowers
9/28/2013 03:24:34 pm

Once more I will say that Norman will always be my inspiration. Tho since meeting you and getting to know you and J thru twitter I have to tell you how much you and J now Inspire me so much more, More then I ever thougt possible. Thank you Tammy and J for allowing me to be a small part of your lives and for being my inspirationg.

Reply



Leave a Reply.